Members & guests at Hindhead
Thu 30th July 2015


News and information from this event

MTGS Meeting Thursday 30th August 2015
at Hindhead Golf Club

We enjoyed a lovely sunny day at Hindhead today. This was the first time that we had held a member/guest day there and we had a bumper turn out of 79 (50 members & 29 guests). The course is superb and a great golfing challenge - the greens are immaculate albeit faster than almost any that most of us play. The challenge of the course was reflected in the modest scores that were achieved.

In his address during the meal, our President, Roger Prowting, covered the following: -
• The attendance was the highest that we have had for some time
• A welcome to our guests including seven from the FMI
• Two diary reminders for (a) the Member day at Walton Heath on September 10th (the invitations will go out soon) and (b) the Dinner on December 3rd
• A sincere thankyou to our prizes sponsor ICB - an insurance brokerage where our member Neal Fox works. The ICB CEO Neil Campling was in attendance and presented the prizes. Extra prizes brought along on the day by ICB meant that more golfers than usual went home with a recognition of their achievements
After our presentation of prizes, the Secretary of FMI (Brian Childs) presented prizes for their separate competition. He thanked the MTGS most sincerely for allowing the FMI to "piggy back" on one of the MTGS competitions in each of the last three years. Without these gestures, he believed that the FMI would have ceased to exist. The list of prize winners is below.

Divison 1

1st Penrose Bowl Peter Batchelor(11) 34 (one shot cut)
2nd Lombard Cup No 1 Oliver Harris(12) 32 c/b (on countback)
3rd Steve Wright(13) 32 c/b
4th Martin Derrick(14) 32c/b
5th Neal Fox(2) 31 c/b
6th Roger Prowing(13) 31 c/b

Divison 2

1st Shell Mex Trophy Trevor Teer(19) 38 (two shot cut)
2nd Lombard Cup No 2 John Wake(16) 35
3rd Ray Fisher(17) 32
4th Sean Friedman(16) 31c/b
5th Vip Khanna(17) 31 c/b
6th Steve Drewitt(20) 30


1st Bob Cadman(14) 35
2nd Brian Childs(21) 34
3rd Peter Owen(8) 32
4th David McCluskey(14) 31c/b
5th Neil Campling(11) 31 c/b
6th John Thorp(20) 30

Nearest the Pin

Div 1 Neil Willis(11)
Div 2 Steve Drewitt(20)

Longest Drive

Div 1 Adam Kendrick(3)
Div 2 Miles Roberts(18)

Terry Wills

MTGS Golf Manager

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.