Members Meeting and AGM at St Georges Hill GC
Thu 11th April 2019


Open to members only. Will include AGM.

News and information from this event

With one exception, we had a great day at St Georges Hill today – the weather was very good, fairways and bunkers were in excellent condition: the exception was the greens which were very bumpy probably due to the lack of rain and warmth since they were hollow tined a couple of weeks ago. Our dissatisfaction with the greens was fed back to the St Georges Hill management.

The turnout was a tad disappointing at 46 which was the same as last year. The main points covered, after an excellent lunch, by the President (his very good Brexit joke cannot be put into print!) were: -
• A welcome to all present and a particular one to Rene Glenister, attending as an MTGS member for the first time
• A sincere "thank you" for the continued sponsorship of our prizes by BCA - Craig Purvey, their Chief Commercial Officer and MTGS member presented the prizes
• Our opening event of the season was very successful namely the Committee Cup played at New Zealand GC where the Committee came second to the Members team
• A reminder that this is the first of our five "majors" to find the player of the year: the other four are Woking (May 31st), Swinley Forest (June 27th) which, as last year, will be a very special day with 25 holes of golf rounded off by tea, Hankley Common (August 27th) and Walton Heath (September 12th). Get your guests lined up for the three member/guest days (Woking, Swinley & Hankley)

The results are detailed below. David McCluskey produced a stunning round of 42 points. I suspect that the greens looked perfect to him!

A short, well attended AGM completed the day - the minutes will be posted on the website in due course. Here is my personal summary: -

• A society in overall very good shape (including its finances, despite a loss on the Dinner)
• Martin Derrick confirmed as this year's President
• Nick Haigh voted in as President Elect

Terry Wills
MTGS Golf Manager
11th April 2019


Name H/c Pts Countback
Div 1
1st Car Mart Challenge Bowl David McCluskey (cut 2) 13 42
2nd Wagon Trophy Douglas Drummond 12 36
3rd Martin Howes 8 35

Div 2
1st Ace Trophy Pawan Kenth (cut 2) 22 36
2nd J Tait Bowl Steve Drewitt 20 34 14-20
3rd Ray Fisher 17 34 18-16

Div 1 Hole
Longest Drive 6th Martin Davies 7
Nearest the Pin 14th Jeff Wilson 11

Div 2
Longest Drive 15th Robert Maxwell 21
Nearest the Pin 11th John Callender 17

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.