Members/Guests at Woking GC
Tue 7th June 2016


News and information from this event

MTGS Guest Meeting at Woking Golf Club

Tuesday 7th June 2016.

We had a splendid turn out of 47 members and 25 guests for our Member/Guest day at Woking. The conditions could not have been better suited to golf – warm, sunny, dry and windless although it did get a little humid towards the end. The course was in magnificent condition and most of the scores reflected the state of the course and the weather.

When we were last at Woking two years ago, their service was disappointing but I am very pleased to say that the Club went out of their way this year to ensure that we had an enjoyable day. Our Immediate Past President, Roger Prowting, welcomed the members (in particular Paul Newman playing his first event as a member) and guests and covered some key points: -
• Our President, Ray Sommerville, sends his sincere apologies for not being able to play today. His calf injury has flared up again
• Steve Wright was presented with the 2015 Player of the Year Salver which he had not been able to receive earlier
• Our next Member/Guest day is approaching fast – Betchworth on June 27th: entries should be sent in as soon as possible
• Another important diary date is our annual dinner on December 1st. In line with members’ feedback from the recent survey, there will be a couple of changes – a little less formality and the invitation extended to ladies
• The attendees were asked to stand up and raise their glasses in a toast to absent friends recognising the passing of our 2003 President, Tony Worthy
• A really sincere "thank you" to the day's sponsor - Lease Car Credit: Oliver Harris's continued sponsorship is very much appreciated as were the sleeves of balls provided for the participants! Oliver then presented the prizes as follows: -

Division 1
1. Mercantile Trophy Gerry Lynch (handicap 9) 38 on count back (20, 18, 11): cut 1shot
2. Motor Trophy Adam Kendrick (3) 38 lost on c/b (20, 18, 10)
3. Steve Wright (13) 37 on c/b (19, 18)
4. Peter van Blommestein (10) 37 lost on c/b (21, 16)

Division 2
1. John Hopkins Trophy Ray Fisher (17) 45; cut 2 shots
2. Wentworth Cup Vip Khanna (16) 40
3. Larry Hawkins (18) 37 on c/b (15, 22)
4. Mark Hinge (18) 37 lost on c/b (16, 21)

1. John Thorp (17) 40 on c/b (21, 19, 14)
2. Vince Davis (9) 40 lost on c/b (21, 19, 12)
3. Alan Bute (17) 37

Longest Drive
Division 1 Nick Haigh Division 2 Peter Fletcher

Nearest the Pin
Division 1 Steve Wright Division 2 Craig Brown

Gerry Lynch wound up proceedings with a vote of thanks to the organisers.

TW 07/06/16

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.