Members Committee Cup at New Zealand GC
Mon 16th May 2016


News and information from this event

MTGS Committee v The Members at New Zealand Golf Club
17th May 2016.

Committee Cup Report – New Zealand Golf Club May 17th 2016

The second playing of the Committee Cup took place on a lovely sunny day at the wonderful New Zealand Golf Club. The course was in great condition and the rhododendrons were beginning to show signs of colour.

There were 30 players in all but, to balance up the numbers, Steve Drewitt, Nick Haigh, Jerry Horwood, Terry Hunt & Frank Whiffen were made honorary members of the Committee team.

All matches (fourball better ball apart from one singles) were played out for the full 18 holes, with an overall tie to be resolved by the number of holes won.

The winners were: -

Players Result
Ray Fisher Committee +1
Martin Howes & David Potts Members +5
Eamon Bradley & Paul Williams Committee +1
Bob Singh & Neil Smith Members +2
Douglas Drummond & Tony Willis Members +6
Nick Haigh & Terry Wills Committee +5
David Manchester & John Warren Members +6

The match involving the two captains (Graeme Hunt & Mike Warnes v John Callender & Stan Chicksand) ended in an honourable draw. This meant that the Members had prevailed 4 ½ - 3 ½ and retained the trophy.

Lunch was superb and, after a few words from Mike Warnes (Committee Captain) and Paul Williams (Vice President), the magnificent Leon Friedman Memorial Trophy was presented to the Members Captain (Stan Chicksand) by our guest of honour, Mrs Bernice Friedman,

Mike gave a positive health bulletin on Sean Friedman (due to have been the Members Captain): he has had major surgery but hopes to be back on the golf course in time for our meeting at Walton Heath. Paul thanked SMC for their generous sponsorship of the day.

On receiving the trophy, Stan wished Sean a speedy recovery and said how much he had enjoyed the day and his match – despite victory being snatched away by his opponents winning the last two holes!

Terry Wills 20/05/16

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.