Members/Guests at Hindhead GC
Thu 27th July 2017


News and information from this event

MTGS Meeting Thursday 27th July 2017
at Hindhead Golf Club

With the exception of a few drops of rain towards the end of our round, we enjoyed good weather at Hindhead today – within a short time of our getting back into the Clubhouse, the heavens opened and we realised that we had been very lucky. The excellent course, which is a great golfing challenge, was in fine condition: in particular the greens were immaculate albeit significantly faster than almost any that most of us play. The scores reflect the magnitude of the challenge.

In his address during the first class meal, our President, Paul Williams, covered the following: -

* 41 played today with 2 joining us as members for the first time – Patrick Charlton & Ian Haddon: welcome!
* A further welcome, this time for our 11 guests
* Our policy of rotating Clubs for our member/guest days continues: next year, two of them will be at Woking & Hankley Common
* Two dates for your diary are the Member day at Walton Heath on September 14th (the invitation has just gone out) and the Dinner on December 7th
* At the end of your Walton Heath invite, Terry has asked for your views on the third member/guest day in 2018. Swinley Forest (at more than we normally pay) is one of the options. Please reply to him as soon as possible.
* A sincere thank you to our new prizes sponsor – Automotive Assets, headed up by David Manchester who will present the prizes.

The prize-winners follow as do the leading scores in the player of the year (aggregate) competition with just one round (Walton Heath) to complete it.

David Manchester handed out a promotional item and this is attached: you will see that an effective introduction, from any of you, passed to David will be rewarded in a handsome way.

All the best,


Hindhead Prize-Winners

Div 1
1st Penrose Bowl John Smith (on countback) cut 1 shot 16 34
2nd Lombard Cup Joff Suter (on countback) cut 1 shot 16 34
3rd Sean Friedman (on countback) cut 1 shot 16 34

Div 2
1st Shell Mex Trophy Paul Williams (on countback) cut 1 shot 18 30
2nd Lombard Cup Miles Roberts (on countback) cut 1 shot 18 30
3rd Ian Haddon 22 29

1st James Cawkell 13 36
2nd Anthony Chicheportiche 10 32
3rd Peter Fletcher 19 29
Div 1
Longest Drive 4th Martin Davies 6
Nearest the Pin 15th Nick Haigh 10

Div 2
Longest Drive 16th Ian Haddon 22
Nearest the Pin 6th Tony Horwell 24

Player of the Year Leaders after 4 Rounds

These are the total of the best three scores after St Georges Hill, Woking, Hadley Wood & Hindhead. The second number is the lowest score contributing to the total. This means that your final score will be your current best three score plus the amount your Walton Heath score exceeds the second number (if positive!)

Martin Davies 99 31
Douglas Drummond 98 29
Godfrey Hall 95 28
Steve Wright 95 30
Nick Haigh 94 30
Martin Derrick 93 28
Mark Hinge 90 27
Roger Prowting 90 21
John Smith 90 28
Oliver Harris 89 29
Sean Costa 87 26
Martin Howes 85 23
Ray Fisher 81 23
Barry Williams 81 26
Eric Cross 80 22
Terry Wills 79 26
Max Angliss 78 18
Paul Williams 78 18
Joff Suter 70 0
Derek Allen 67 0
Martin Broome 65 0
Trevor Teer 65 0
Craig Brown 63 0
Bob Singh 63 0
Frank Whiffen 63 0
Peter Featherstone 62 0
Sean Friedman 59 0
Mike Kiff 58 0
David Manchester 58 16
John Callender 56 0
Stan Chicksand 55 0
Robin Stewart 55 0
Miles Roberts 53 0
Paul Healy 50 0
John Wake 49 0

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.