Match vs BMW at West Byfleet
Tue 11th October 2011


News and information from this event

West Byfleet Golf Club

Tuesday 11th October 2011

Our final match of 2011 took place at West Byfleet Golf Club on a blustery but mostly fine October day. As the teams arrived,it became apparant that the MTGS were a man short. Brian Lowe's electric garage door was on the blink and poor Brian couldnt get access to his car or golf clubs!!

Thankfully BMW had brought a spare and so Mathew Boyles , also a member of the society , was seconded to the MTGS team.
Play began at 9.30 am with James Crickmay and Tony Worthy leading off , followed by that formidable pair of John Smith and Ray Fisher. Paul Richmond and Mathew Boyles contested the third match with Mike Evans and Neal Fox playing the anchor role. The golf course was in excellent condition with punishing rough if you strayed off the fairways.
A keenly contested match finshed all square with 2 wins to each team, and so BMW retain the trophy they won in 2010.

After an excellent lunch , James Crickmay presented the magnificent trophy, a Formula 1 Brake Disc from a Williams BMW Grand Prix Car, to Tim Abbott, BMW Managing Director. All agreed this match should continue in the future with perhaps 12 a side next year.
My thanks to Tony Worthy for organising the match and dealing with the club and to the MTGS team who made sure we finished the season unbeaten.


James Crickmay / Tony Worthy beat Paul Bowker / Jim Houghton

John Smith / Ray Fisher lost to Gary Lewington / Dave Wild

Paul Richmond / Mathew Boyles lost to Tim Abbott / Rex Wilson

Mike Evans / Neal Fox beat Kevin Davidson / Rob Simms


James Crickmay


Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.