Presidents Match at Foxhills
Tue 30th to Wed 31st August 2011


News and information from this event

MTGS v Presidents Team
30/31 August 2011

For the last 10 years,this match has been played at Trevose in Cornwall organised and managed by Mike Evans and after a great deal of thought I decided to make a change and hold the event at my home club, Foxhills in Ottershaw , Surrey which has 2 challenging golf courses and excellent accomodation , bar and restaurant facilities.
So after the bank holiday , both teams, made up almost entirely of MTGS members , assembled for lunch in the Old Manor House and the pairs were announced for the afternoon 4 balls to be played on the Longcross Course.
The weather was perfect for golf ,overcast, warm and calm which resulted in some excellent scoring from both sides with a narrow advantage to the MTGS team after the first days play.

James Crickmay/Leslie Horrix beating John Smith /Ray Fisher

Derek Allen/Steve Drewitt losing to John Woolatt/Brian Lowe

Nick Haigh/Graeme Hunt beating Stan Chicksand/Nick Kingsbury

Matin Leo/Paul Richmond losing to Ian Wilson/Peter Featherstone

Gerry Lynch/Rex Wilson losing to Martin Howes/Eamon Bradley

So with the score at 3-2 to the MTGS the teams checked into their rooms and reconvened in the bar to discuss tactics for the following days singles over pre-dinner drinks!! The singles pairings were announced over dinner and the Presidents team was boosted by the arrival of Oliver who couldn't make the afternoon round but he did send a 6 handicapper (Matin Leo ) in his place!!

Wednesday morning was again overcast with a gentle breeze and after a hearty breakfast the match resumed at 9am on the Bernard Hunt Course with Gerry Lynch leading off for the Presidents team against Ian Wilson for the MTGS. It was nip and tuck with most games well contested with just the odd hole in it but the overall result was a resounding win for the MTGS with a flattering score of 7-3

Gerry Lynch lost to Ian Wilson

Nick Haigh lost to Martin Howes

Oliver Harris beat Nick Kingsbury

James Crickmay lost to John Woolatt

Graeme Hunt lost to Peter Featherstone

Derek Allen lost to Brian Lowe

Rex Wilson beat John Smith

Paul Richmond lost to Stan Chicksand

Leslie Horrix lost to Ray Fisher

Steve Drewitt beat Eamon Bradley

The final score was MTGS 10 Presidents Team 5

The Trophy was presented by the President to the MTGS captain John Smith over a farewell lunch.

My personal thanks to both teams for giving up 2 days to support me in this most enjoyable match and well done to the MTGS team. My thanks also to Ray Fisher,the match manager for all his organisational skills and dealing with Foxhills who looked after us extremely well.

James Crickmay


2nd September 2011

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.