Members & guests at St Georges Hill
Thu 22nd March 2012


News and information from this event

MTGS Meeting Thursday 22 March 2012

St George's Hills Golf Club

A beautiful Spring day greeted the members for the first meeting of the year and St George's Hills was in fine condition as we have come to expect from this wonderful old club in this, its centenary year.
57 golfers,including 5 new members playing for the first time,John Tupper,Ged Creighton,Mike Jones,Craig Brown and Martin Rennger, set off at 8.30 from the 1st and 10th tees.
The scoring was good with the majority of the field achieving better than 30 points. A fine round from Martin Howes, who tied 2nd in 2011 won the Car Mart Challenge Trophy with a Division 1 score of 38 points. 2nd with 37 points was Vince Davis picking up the Wagon Trophy.
In Division 11, our new President, Derek Allen won the Ace Trophy with the best of the day score of 39 points and new member, John Tupper picking up the J Tait Bowl with an excellent 38 points, beating John Smith into 3rd on the countback.
Other prize winners were Kevin Khanna-Longest Drive Div 1. Gerry Lynch- Nearest the pin Div 1. ( Gerry holed the putt for a birdie !!!) Sean Friedman-Longest Drive Div 11. and John Tupper-Nearest the pin Div 11.
After an excellent lunch and prizegiving, Derek Allen drove in off the 1st tee to begin his Presidency for the coming season.
Our thanks to BCA for sponsoring the prizes and of course to John Smith, golf manager and President Elect, for all his hard work, ably assisted on the desk by John Etches.

James Crickmay

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.