Members & guests at St Georges Hill
Fri 21st March 2014


News and information from this event

St George’s Hill Spring Meeting

Thursday 20th March 2014
MTGS Meeting Report

As this is my last report as your President I would like to thank every member for their great support over the past year, it has really made my year most enjoyable.
We had an excellent turnout for our 1st meeting of the 2014 season and in total we had 66 players turning out on the day.
We had five new members playing for the first time and they were introduced to our members. They were :- Nigel Guild, Nick Harris, Pawan Kenth and Peter Van Blommestein. We were pleased to welcome them to the Society.

On behalf of all the members I would like to thank Ray Fisher for covering the golf manager role during my year, and also wish Terry Wills all the best in taking over from Ray. I am sure the society is in good hands. Thanks also to John Etches for helping on the desk and to our sponsor of the day British Car Auctions. We were very please to see Spencer Lock from BCA attend on the day.

The wonderful St George’s Hill Red & Blue courses were in fine condition which we have come to expect. This is one of the best venues that we play in my opinion and luckily the weather was kind to us albeit it was only 8C but no rain. The scores reflected that many of our members had not played in the past few months because of the terrible wet weather this winter and you can see that from the winning scores below. My congratulations to all the prize winners. :-

Div 1
1. Vince Davis with 41pts winning the Car Mart Challenge Bowl
2. David Warren with 37pts winning the Wagon Trophy
3. Nick Haigh with 35pts
Vince is cut 2 shots
Longest drive - David Warren Nearest the pin - Oliver Harris

Div 2
1. Craig Brown with 35pts winning the Ace Trophy
2. Simon Newell with 35pts winning the J Tait Bowl
3. John Hammond with 35pts
All places were decided on count back Craig is cut 1 shot
Longest drive - Terry Wills Nearest the pin - John Smith

After the traditional excellent carvery lunch was prize giving and then our new President Eamon Bradley drove in off the first tee in fine style. We all wish Eamon a very successful year.

John Smith
28th March 2014.

Motor Trades Golfing Society

Copyright (c) 1926-2021 Motor Trades Golfing Society. All rights reserved.
Thank you to all the Golf clubs for use of photographs of their Club Houses.